Welcome to BigSDM2018!
Important Dates
Abstract submission:Sep 30, 2018
Full papers submission: Oct 12, 2018
Notification to authors: Nov 5, 2018

All deadlines are at 11:59PM Pacific Time.
Organized By
SciBDS Project

The Scientific Big Data System is funded by the 'National Key R & D Plan: Cloud Computing and Big Data'. Led by the Computer Network Information Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences, the project is jointly implemented by 16 universities and institutions. It has over 100 participants. more

National Scientific Data Conference


Welcome to BigSDM 2018!


The proceedings have been published by Springer!


The International Conference on Big Scientific Data Management (BigSDM 2018) will be held in Beijing, China, during November 30th–December 1st, 2018. The Conference is jointly organized by Chinese Academy of Sciences, Peking University, Tsinghua University, Renmin University, CWI, and MonetDB Solutions.


Keynote Speakers

Barry C. Barish

2017 Nobel Prize in Physics, Caltech

Barry Barish earned his B.A. in physics (1957) and Ph.D. in experimental particle physics (1962) at the University of California, Berkeley. He came to Caltech as a postdoc in 1963, where he has pursued his academic and research careers and is currently the Maxine and Ronald Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus. Barish’s primary research interest has been the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO), since he became Principal Investigator in 1994 and Director in 1997. He led the effort through the final design stages and has continued to play a leadership role in the implementation of Advanced LIGO, including serving on the LIGO Scientific Collaboration Executive Committee. In 2017, Barish was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics along with Rainer Weiss and Kip Thorne "for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves".


Alexander S. Szalay

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, the Johns Hopkins University

Alexander Szalay is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, the Alumni Centennial Professor of Astronomy, and Professor in the Department of Computer Science. He is the Director of the Institute for Data Intensive Science. He is a cosmologist, working on the statistical measures of the spatial distribution of galaxies and galaxy formation. He is a Corresponding Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2004 he received an Alexander Von Humboldt Award in Physical Sciences, in 2007 the Microsoft Jim Gray Award. In 2008 he became Doctor Honoris Causa of the Eotvos University, Budapest.


Huadong Guo

Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences

GUO Huadong is a Professor of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth (RADI), an Academician of CAS, a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, a Foreign Member of the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters, and a Fellow of the World Academy of Sciences. He served as President of the International Council for Science (ICSU): Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA), and presently serves as President of the International Society for Digital Earth (ISDE), Chairman of the International Committee on Remote Sensing of Environment (ICORSE), Member of UN 10-Member Group to support the Technology Facilitation Mechanism, Director of the International Centre on Space Technologies for Natural and Cultural Heritage (HIST) under the Auspices of UNESCO, Chair of Digital Belt and Road Program (DBAR), and Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Digital Earth, Big Earth Data and China Scientific Data. He specializes in Earth observation, and has a series of achievements in remote sensing information mechanisms, radar for Earth observation, and Digital Earth science. He has published more than 600 papers and sixteen books, and is the principal awardee of sixteen domestic and international prizes.


Martin Kersten

CWI-Fellow, University of Amsterdam
CEO and co-founder, MonetDB Solutions

Martin L. Kersten is a computer scientist with research focus on database architectures, query optimization and their use in scientific databases. He is an architect of the MonetDB system, an open-source column for data warehouses, online analytical processing (OLAP) and geographic information systems (GIS). For this work he received the prestigious ACM SIGMOD E.F. Codd Innovation Award and the ACM SIGMOD Systems award. He published > 150 papers and is an ACM Research Fellow. He has been (co-) founder of several successful spin-offs of CWI.




Supported and Sponsored By